Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc. (SCDAA)
About SCDAA
Sickle Cell Research & Screening
Member Organizations
Media Canter
Annual Convention
Sickle Cell Programs & Eduation
Get Involved
Calendar of Events
Wall of Giving
Join SCDAA
SCDAA
Address
Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc.
3700 Koppers Street
Suite 570
Baltimore, Maryland 21227

Office   410.528.1555
Fax   410.528.1495
Toll Free   800.421.8453


Monday - Friday:
9:00am - 5:00pm (EST)

scdaa@sicklecelldisease.org
  • Sickle Cell Conditions
Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc. Research and Screening
Member Organizations / Affiliate Members

Affiliate Members

United States

Alabama

University of South Alabama Medical Center
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
MCSB 1530
2451 Fillingim Street
Mobile, AL 36617
251.470.5893 - Office
251.470.5895 - Fax
Johnson Haynes, M.D., Director

University of Alabama - Birmingham
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
THT-513B
1900 University Boulevard
Birmingham, AL 35294
205.975.2088 - Office
205.975.5264 - Fax
Tim Townes, Ph.D., Director
sicklecellcenter@uab.edu

California

University of Southern California
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
2025 Zonal Avenue
RMR 304
Los Angeles, CA 90033
323.442.1259 - Office
323.226.4407 - Fax
Cage S. Johnson, M.D., Director
cagejohn@usc.edu

Children's Hospital & Research Center at Oakland
Sickle Cell Program
747 52nd Street
Oakland, CA 94609
510.428.3651 - Office
510.450.5647 - Fax
Elliott Vichinsky, M.D., Director

San Francisco General Hospital
Northern California Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
505 Parnassus Avenue
P.O. Box 0106
San Francisco, CA 94110
415.502.8024 - Office
415.502.8034 - Fax
Jim Wuang, M.D., Director

Florida

University of Miami School of Medicine
Sickle Cell Center
Department of Pediatrics
794 NW 18th Street
Miami, FL 33101
305.243.6924 - Office
305.545.6851- Fax

Georgia

Grady Memorial Hospital of Georgia
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
80 Jesse Hill Jr. Drive, SE
Atlanta, GA 30303
404.778.1340 - Office
404.778.1353 - Fax
James R. Eckman, M.D., Director
James_Eckman@Emoryhealthcare.org

Medical College of Georgia
Sickle Cell Center
Suite FF-100
1521 Pope Avenue
Augusta, GA 30912
706.721.2171 - Office
706.721.7226 - Fax
Abdullah Kutlar, M.D., Director
Betsy Clair, Center Administrator
bclair@mail.mcg.edu

Illinois

University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago Sickle Cell Center
M/C 713
Suite 172
912 South Wood Street
Chicago, IL 60612
312.569.6683 - Office
312.996.5984 - Fax
Joseph Desimone, Ph.D., Program Director
adornconsult@aol.com

Indiana

Memorial Health Systems
Office of Minority Health
613 Monroe Circle
South Bend, IN 46601
888.251.6100 - Office
219.251.6060 - Fax
Barbara L. Murphy, SC Project Director
BMurphy@memorialsb.org

Maryland

Johns Hopkins Hospital
Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Unit
Ross Building
Room 1025
720 Rutland Avenue
Baltimore, MD 21205
410.502.7700 - Office
410.614.8601 - Fax
Sharon O'Neill, Sickle Cell Coordinator
Sophie Lanzkron, M.D., Asst. Professor of Medicine
Slanzkr@jhmi.edu

Massachusetts

Brigham & Women's Hospital-Hematology
Joint Center for Sickle Cell and Thalassemic Disorders
75 Francis Street
Boston, MA 02115
617.525.8337 - Office
617.732.5706 - Fax
Katherine Cahill, Division Coordinator
Maureen Okam, M.D., Director
mokam@partners.org

Boston Medical Center
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
FGH-2
One Boston Medical Center Place
Boston, MA 02118
617.414.1020 - Office
617.414.1021 - Fax
Martin H. Steinberg, M.D., Director
msteinberg@medicine.bumc.bu.edu

Mississippi

University of Mississippi Medical Center
Sickle Cell Studies
Jackson Medical Mall - Cancer Institute
350 West Woodrow Wilson Avenue

Missouri

Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis Children's Hospital
Hematology/Oncology
CB 8116
One Children's Place
Michael R. Debaun, M.D., M.P.H., Director
debaun_m@kids.wustl.edu

New Jersey

Hackensack University Medical Center
Tomorrow's Children's Institute
30 Prospect Avenue
Hackensack, NJ 07601
314.996.5437 - Office
201.487.7340 - Fax
Frances Flug, M.D., Director, Hematology Service
fflug@humed.com

Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
Hematology and Adult Sickle Cell Center
201 Lyons Avenue
Newark, NJ 07112
973.926.7230 - Office
973.926.9568 - Fax
Marcus Stevenson, R.N.

New York

Montefiore Hospital Medical Center
Albert Einstein School of Medicine
Bronx Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
Department of Hematology/Oncology
Suite U-921
1300 Morris Park Avenue
Bronx, NY 10461
718.430.2088 - Office
718.824.3153 - Fax
Ronald L. Nagel, M.D., Director
nagel@aecom.yu.edu

Brookdale University Hospital & Medical Center
Comprehensive Pediatric Sickle Cell Program
Division of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
Room 346-CHC
One Brookdale Plaza
Brookdale, NY 11212
718.240.5904 - Office
718.240.5904 - Fax
Kusum Viswanathan, M.D., Chief
kviswana@brookdale.edu

Interfaith Medical Center
Sickle Cell Program
528 Prospect Place
Brooklyn, NY 11238
718.613.6875 - Office
718.613.6984 - Fax
Miren Blackwood, SC Coordinator
mblackwood@interfaithmedical.com

New York Methodist Hospital
Comprehensive Sickle Cell/Thalassemia Program
506 Sixth Street
Brooklyn, NY 11215
718.857.5643 - Office
718.857.6798 - Fax
Rita Bellevue, M.D., Program Director
bellevuer@aol.com

Harlem Hospital Center
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
MLK - 6-6146
506 Lenox Avenue
New York, NY 10037
718.939.4020 - Office
718.939.1710 - Fax

Upstate Medical University
Pediatric/Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
750 East Adams Street
Syracuse, NY 13210
315.464.5294 - Office
315.464.7238 - Fax

North Carolina

Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Program
Department of Pediatrics
Medical Center Boulevard
Hernan Sabio, M.D., Director

Ohio

Children's Hospital Medical Center
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
Division of Hematology/Oncology
3333 Burnett Avenue
Cincinnati, OH 45229
513.636.5969 - Office
513.636.3549 - Fax
Clinton H. Joiner, M.D., Ph.D., Director
Clinton.Joiner@cchmc.org

Rainbow Babies & Children's Hospital
Comprehensive Pediatric Sickle Cell Center
Mail Stop - RBC6054
11100 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44106
216.844.3345 - Office
216.844.5431 - Fax
Anthony Villella, M.D., Director
Anthony.Villella@uhhs.com

Columbus Children's Hospital
Pediatric Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
700 Children's Drive
Columbus, OH 43205
614.722.3563 - Office
614.722.3699 - Fax
Mark A. Ranalli, M.D., Director
ranallim@pediatrics.ohio-state.edu

Pennsylvania

The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
Wood 4387
324 South 24th Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
215.590.3423 - Office
215.590.3525 - Fax
Kwaku Ohene-Frempong, M.D., Director
Ohene-Frempong@email.chop.edu

Jefferson Medical College
The Cardeza Sickle Cell Center Foundation for Hematologic Research 1015 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107
215.955.8485 - Office
215.923.7859 - Fax
Samir K. Ballas, M.D., Director
samir.ballas@jefferson.edu

St. Christopher's Hospital For Children
Comprehensive Sickle Cell Center
Division of Hematology
2nd Floor
Erie Avenue at Front Street
Carlton Dampier, M.D., Director
carlton.dampier@tenethealth.com
Frank Shafer, M.D., Co-Director
frank.shafer@tenethealth.com

South Carolina

Medical University of South Carolina
Pediatric Sickle Cell Program
135 Rutledge Avenue
P.O. Box 250558

Tennessee

Meharry Medical College
Meharry Sickle Cell Center
Box A-10
1005 D.B. Todd Boulevard
Steven Wolff, M.D., Director
swolff@mmc.edu

Virginia

Virginia Sickle Cell Awareness Program
Virginia Department of Health
Division of Women and Infants' Health
109 Governor Street
Marcus Allen, MPH, Sickle Cell Program Coordinator

804-864-7769
Marcus.Allen@vdh.virginia.gov

Washington, DC

Howard University Center
Sickle Cell Disease
2121 Georgia Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20059
Oswaldo Castro, M.D., Director
ocastro@howard.edu

Canada

The Hospital for Sick Children
Sickle Cell Disease Program
Department of Hematology/Oncology
555 University Avenue
Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5G IX8
416.813.7606 - Office
416.813.5327 - Fax
Melanie Kirby, M.D., M.S.B.S., Clinician/Physician
melanie.kirby@sickkids.ca


Back to Top
Featured Event
Featured Event
Featured Event
SCDAA Corporate Sponsor