Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc. (SCDAA)
About SCDAA
About SCD & SCT
Find A Member
Research
Advocacy
Programs
Convention
Media Canter
Get Involved

About SCDAA

Staff


Sonja L. Banks

President/Chief Operating Officer

sbanks@sicklecelldisease.org

Sonja L. Banks is the newly elected President and Chief Operating Officer for the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc. She is primarily responsible for the administrative activities of the organization which serves over fifty-five sickle cell community based organizations throughout the United States.

Ms. Banks is an accomplished management professional with over 17 years of executive level experience and an established background in nonprofit leadership and operations. Prior to her current position, Ms. Banks served at St. Vincent's Health System in Birmingham, Alabama. While at St. Vincent’s Health System, she served as Director of Community Services, Outreach and Adult Indigent Services. Her previous professional experience also includes leadership roles within the United Negro College Fund, United Way of Central Alabama and City of Birmingham.

Ms. Banks' academic credentials include a Bachelor's degree from the University of Alabama and a Master's Degree in Public Administration and Business. In addition, she is presently pursuing her doctorate of education in Organization Leadership & Nonprofit Management.

She has and continues to serve on a number of boards and has been recognized which such honors as "Outstanding Service", Ebony’s 30 Leaders under 30, Coca Cola Women Who Care Award and Birmingham Who’s Who to name a few.

Ms. Banks enjoys writing, performing arts, public speaking and working with youth.

"I am delighted for the opportunity to deliver my professional knowledge and experiences to the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America and build upon its decades of meaningful work and success. My immediate focus will be to vigorously advance and further develop the strategic direction of SCDAA while remaining keenly focused on patient care, service delivery, education, research, funding and core legislative goals."




Alphonso Horton   
Sr. Finance & Grants Manager
ahorton@sicklecelldisease.org

Stacey Schiano
Development Director
sschiano@sicklecelldisease.org

Natasha Thomas
Planning & Development Director
nthomas@sicklecelldisease.org

Kelsey McDowell
Communications Specialist
kmcdowell@sicklecelldisease.org

Nikki Cooper
Member Services & Outreach Specialist
ncooper@sicklecelldisease.org

Jennifer Fields  
 
Grant Manager   
jfields@sicklecelldisease.org

Meghan Ringgold

Project Coordinator
mringgold@sicklecelldisease.org

Oluyemisi Adekunle
Job Coach
yadekunle@sicklecelldisease.org

Gregory Peck II   
Executive Assistant
gpeck@sicklecelldisease.org
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



Featured Media
Watch Video2015 Advocacy Day

2015 Advocacy Day

Watch Video