Meet Our Board Members

Thomas L. Johnson, JD

Chair of the Board
Washington, DC

Biree Andemariam, MD

Biree Andemariam, MD

Vice Chair
Director, New England Sickle Cell Institute
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Hematology/Oncology
University of Connecticut Health Center
Farmington, CT

JaKela Walker

Board Treasurer
Finance Director and Global
Financial Controller
DSM BioMedical, Inc.
Exton, PA

Bernie Lawrence-Watkins

Bernie Lawrence-Watkins

Board Secretary
Principal Attorney
Lawrence Watkins & Associates
Atlanta, GA

Lewis Hsu, MD

Lewis Hsu, MD

Chief Medical Officer
Director of the Sickle Cell Center and Professor of Pediatrics
Pediatric Hematologist
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, IL

Edward Donnell Ivy, MD, MPH

Vice Chief Medical Officer
Director of Community Outreach and Education
The Possibilities Clinic
Toronto, ON

David N. Braxton, PhD

Senior Vice President, Global Procurement
Bank of America
Atlanta, GA

Ed Flowers

Managing Partner & Executive Committee Member
DHR International Executive Search
Atlanta, GA

Gary Gibson

President and CEO
Martin Center Sickle Cell Initiative
Indianapolis, IN 

Christopher Hollins, MBA

Christopher Hollins, MBA

Executive Vice President
Strategic Acquiring Partnerships
WorldPay, Inc.
Atlanta, GA

Crystal A. Riley, PharmD. MHA, MBA

Deputy Director / Government Policy & Reimbursement
Baxter International, Inc.
Washington, DC

Bobby Staten III

Principal Solutions Architect
Appleseed Consulting
Atlanta, GA

Kim Smith-Whitley, MD

Executive Vice President and Head of Research and Development
Global Blood Therapeutics
Philadelphia, PA

Lennette Benjamin, MD

Board Member Emeritus